Guide Becoming A Better Builder - Depth.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by n00bpwners, Jul 13, 2015.

?

Would you like to see more tutorials from me?

1. Yes

4 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. n00bpwners

n00bpwners Athion Member Athion Member

What is Wall Depth?
    Wall Depth is an important criteria in building structures such as houses and buildings. It also happens to be one of the rather important requirements for ranking up in the training grounds. Lots of people struggle with building with wall depth as they focus too much on "Is this wall depth" or "Is this good enough" when the really all you need for depth is for it to look good.

Without further ado, I'll be showing a tutorial to turn your poopy flat walls into detailed, layered walls that look amazing.
    Note: By no means I'm an amazing builder, so if some of the builds in this thread look bad to you, I"m sorry.

Step-by-step Tutorial
    I'll be explaining this really clearly with pictures, just so its easy for "newcomers" to understand what I'm trying to get across. I'll start with this image of a basic, flat wall with a window. Its currently 5x5x1 and its pretty plain, only consisting of two block types, wood and brown clay. (Iron Bars count as decorations.)
    [​IMG]

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
    I begin by adding some trapdoors alongst the sides of the windows for extra detail and realism and to allow more room for possibilities with depth and detail, I then proceed with extending the logs so their one block protruding now, just like the picture below.​
    [​IMG]

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-