Question A Bit Of An Inquiry

Discussion in 'Build Showcase' started by itsDeformed, Nov 30, 2014.

1. itsDeformed

itsDeformed Athion Member Athion Member

Hello, folks. A bit of background about myself: my name is DeformedYZ, I'm 15, and I've been building for roughly three months now. My skills have progressively and steadily developed over that time, although I've been too shy to conquer the feat of megabuilding. Deciding that now was as good a time as any, I started my first megabuild today.

Now, it's too early to call it progress, but that's not what I'm here for. I'm here for a few things, but most notably are these two questions I'm plagued with:

- How do I make the shape?

Boxes are just so overdone, and that really is too easy. I feel like I'm a decent enough of a builder that I can move on from those days and at least try something other than a box. But, what shape would fit? I'm building kind of an olden style of castle, so I'm not sure where to go from there.

- Detailing: how is it done?

Ye gads, if there's one thing I'm good at, it's overdetailing. I tend to overdetail the simplest of projects and overlook the necessity of depth. For this project, I've been trying to focus on depth while still applying strong details (although, in my opinion, too many.)

What I'm quite interested in knowing, in addition to how to create the shape, is how my detailing is so far. As aforementioned, I feel it is pretty overdetailed and heavy. The outer walls, I feel, are perhaps bare-bone acceptable, but the inner walls could perhaps be too heavy.

I'm also noting that there is a strong abundance of stone, so I'm interested in hearing what other blocks I should add. I've delayed doing that to this point because palette forming is not one of my stronger fields and I figured it was best to leave it to those who can successfully do it.