Tutorials Being Creative In Creative Mode

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TrigaJoules, Jun 26, 2015.

?

Do you like this?

1. yea

100.0%
  2. ney

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. TrigaJoules

TrigaJoules Athion Member Athion Member

! This thread serves as a test environment for these tutorials. Once an episode has been refined enough with feedback from the Athion community a more polished tutorial in video format wil be created. !

I'll be doing around 3-4 of these text based episodes first, before I start on the videos.

Current planned subjects:

-Lines and shapes
    -Color: hue, value and saturation
    -Space: big and small
    -Surfaces

-Symmetry and asymetry
    -Cohesion
    -Contrast
    -Emphasis
    -Flow and Direction

-Voxelsniper/Terraforming
    -Interior
    -Depth and Detail

Alright so first off a quick introduction. I'm Triga and I've been playing minecraft for a good 3-4 years now and I've gathered quite a bit of knowledge when it comes to building in the process. And as such I thought I'd share this via this tutorial series. So here it goes.

Lines and shapes:
    Let's talk geometry. There are two main types of lines, straight and curved.

2015-06-26_09.55.01.png

You'll mainly use straight lines for buildings, and curved lines for organics, that's not always the case though. Lines always have direction, but more on direction later.

Lines come together to form shapes like, squares, triangles, circles, etc. If you take that a dimension higher you get cubes, cylinders, prisms, pyramides, the list goes on. The important thing to remember is that your building can't consist of just one of these shapes with a flat roof.

*example simplified*
    2015-06-26_10.09.55.png

This would be a bad example, see how the "castle" is simply a box, but if we add more shapes to the build we get...

2015-06-26_10.14.44.png

Something that looks a lot more like a castle.